top of page

Meet the Board

2023 Board of Directors








Past President:                    


Dean of College of Fine Arts USD:



Mark Meersman:  Compliance and Business Integrity Officer, VA Black Hills Health Care System, Rapid City

Eric Hagen: Professor Emeritus of Theatre, University of South Dakota, Minneapolis, MN


Betsy Groves: Lamont Enterprises, Whitewood Partnership - Rapid City

Rick Giesel:  Retired, former CEO Regional / Sanford Health - Rapid City

Holly Knox:  Onboarding Nurse Educator, Monument Health, Actor/Community Volunteer - Rapid City

Dr. Bruce Kelley:  Dean of the College of Fine Arts, University of South Dakota - Vermillion

Corey Brown Vice President of Government Relations, Sanford Health - Sioux Falls

              Chair:  Legislative Task Force

Joe Williams Director of Community Education and Director of Native American Programs, Plains                            Art Museum - Fargo, ND

Executive Committee


Rai Genna:

        Chair and Associate Professor USD Theatre, Coordinator of BFA Studies, Director of Graduate Studies   

Tom Geu

        Retired Professor, Knudson School of Law, University of South Dakota - Vermillion

Erin Goetzinger:

         Homemaker, former legislative aid to Sen. Tom Daschle - Rapid City

Rose Ann Hofland:

Director of Communications & Community Engagement at Levitt at the Falls - Sioux Falls

Chair, Board Development

Ron Jeffries: General Manager Central States Fair & BH Stock Show & Rodeo - Rapid City

Deb Kuehn: Certified Family & Neonatal Practitioner: Black Hills Pediatrics, Rapid City & Monument Spearfish Pediatrics Clinic

Ken Meirose: Black Hills Energy Operations Manager, Sturgis

Carrie Moore: Owner, Jenny's Floral - Custer, SD


Charolyn MizeRetired Educator - Spearfish


Carissa NaaszTeacher, Rapid City Catholic School System - Rapid City


Dr. Jaime NortonDentist, Massa Dental - Hot Springs 


Victor Shonk: Associate Professor of Theatre, University of South Dakota - Vermillion

Chair: Education Committee


Sara Southwood: Music Teacher, Sioux Falls School System - Sioux Falls       


Sharla Steever: Learning Specialist, Technology in Education - Rapid City

Whitnee Thorp: Black Hills Special Services Learning  Specialist - Rapid City

Mandie Weinandt:

Director of Center for Teaching and Learning,

Instructor, Beacom School of Business, University of South Dakota - Vermillion

Chair:  Fundraising Committee

Eric Whitcher: Pennington County Public Defender

Board Portal

Log in here for board member only access. Information is confidential and proprietary to the Board of Directors.

bottom of page